I wish I could say I was exhausted because I just had a really great run or I just challenged my mind so much this week or I just cured cancer or something legit but really I am just worn out for the sake of being worn out. I have been pushing so hard at work to do the most I can and be the best (I get it, I am a dirty competitive desk slave) that it is physically taking a toll on me. I have been hitting the gym after work but I usually can't manage more than some lackluster elliptical time or a interval treadmill walk (by walk I mean 3.5 at the max).

In turn, I feel even worse because I don't feel like I am doing all that I can do and therefore am not going to reach my goals. It is a dirty vicious cycle. I missed WIAW this week and a Thursday post because I hadn't taken a single picture all week.

By the time I get home from the gym or work I am a zombie laying in bed and watching netflix and eating until I pass out (such a cute image right?). If ya couldn't tell that little nightly routine doesn't boost the mood either. 

I have a new goal for this weekend and next week. My goal is to chill. My goal is to listen to my body and not beat myself up if I don't run one day or if I don't tackle 46743728 assignments at work. My goal is to trust that I am doing a good job all around and to understand that in order to do a good job I need to take care of myself.

I realize that I am a workaholic (hello I work a second job on the weekends for no reason at all except that I am crazy) but it won't serve me any good or pay off at all if I run myself into the ground. As much energy and effort as I put into life I need to also put into myself and into keeping myself up and running. I realize that this has been a struggle for me in the past and it will continue to be one but it never hurts to keep on trying.

I am SURE I have asked this before but how do you unwind??



Leave a Reply.