Hello lovelies! I hope everyone had a marvelous weekend and isn't having a too terrible Monday back in the real world (I would say I hope you are all having a great Monday but are Monday's ever that great??). I want to warn you ahead of time that this will be one looong post because I have both a Marvelous in my Monday post of all of the wonderful things that happened this weekend as well as recap of my first half marathon. 

Either skim the photos and move on or batten down the hatches cause it's gonna be a long ride.....

Marvelous was my Saturday night! Kings game with my sister and her bf and then a bar in Redondo Beach after.
SUCH a good night filled with way too many drinks and way too much cheering. Also check out those roots. I need my hair done asap.....

Also I steal props from bars apparently because I had no Bacardi all night. Oh well, I do what I want.

Half Marathon ~ By the numbers/photos

Thought I would save y'all from a long drawn out description of the 13.1 miles and just give it to you straight.

Starting time: 6:30 a.m.

Time I realized my toes were frozen and in pain: 6:33 a.m.

Time I started to creepily pace myself based on a stranger in a neon pink shirt: 6:39 a.m.

Time my toes went numb: 6:40 a.m.

Time I realized there was a lot of homeless people in Venice: 6:45 a.m.

Time I realized Venice kind of looked like Ensenada, Mexico: 6:47 a.m.

Time #1 that I started to speed up for no reason and then regretted it: 7:00 a.m.

Time I reached aid station #1 (meaning 5 miles were done): 7:20 a.m.

Time I felted guilted into stopping at aid station #1: 7:20 a.m.

Times I thought I was getting close to aid station #2 (meaning 9 miles were done): 4

Time I saw a man coming out of a weird underground tunnel (subway?? bomb shelter??): 7:43 a.m.

Time I reached aid station #2 and was again guilted into stopping: 7:50 a.m.

Time I realized I could no longer focus on anything except putting one foot in front of the other: 8:10 a.m.

Times I thought I was close to the finish line: 3

Time #2 I started to speed up for no reason and then regretted it: 8:13 a.m.

Times I was actually close to the finish line: 1

I kinda can't wait to do it again. Does that make me crazy or did the list above already do that? 

I also must say that this race was AMAZING as far as the organizers and what they offered. I chose this race mainly because of the date and the low price and for what I paid (I think it was around $28) I feel like I got so much more from it. The aid stations were great with all of the gels, bars, liquids and bananas that one could want plus they took free pictures (not to mention a medal!!). I believe it was organized by a husband and wife (can't be too sure) and they were SO sweet and friendly. The race was informal, which was nice because I didn't feel pressured to really perform, but it had all the amenities of a larger scale race. A portion of the benefits also go to the Semper Fi Fund and who doesn't love a Marine ;)  I you are in Southern California I definitely recommend Rocket Racing
a.) Pier before the race (it was still dark out and all lit up once we arrived) b.) barren (beach) desert as I ran c.) Yayy for under 2 hours!! d.) Is it wrong that I want to take my medal with me everywhere and show it off? e.) Huckleberry for a food coma after the race f.) MB Post for a cocktail after the race. 
My baby. Just to add some "awww" to the post.
Anyone still there? 


How was your weekend?
Did you do anything new or exciting this weekend?
3/11/2013 03:14:14 am

Congrats on the half girl!!!

The pup pic is so cute! He looks so comfy! Or is it a she?!

Reply
3/16/2013 05:07:23 am

You killed that race lady!! and Im super jealous of your kings game. I havent been to one yet this season! Of course Im there all the seasons they suck and now that they are finally winners I dont have the money to go lol TYPICAL!

Reply



Leave a Reply.