Monday's come WAY too fast if you ask me but at least I have some marvelous things from the weekend to look back on! 

I didn't work my second job all weekend so I had time (and energy) to celebrate some of the many birthdays that seem to happen in February. Is it just me or does it seem like there are more birthday's this month than any other?!
Picture


Saturday morning I went to brunch to celebrate two of my good friend's birthdays. As you can tell I am the only blonde in the group! Misfits is a really cool restaurant and bar in Santa Monica that has a Sunday brunch complete with bottomless mimosas. I had another birthday celebration to head to (on the other side of town) so I had one drink and then hit the road.  I feel like I never see them enough and it was really great to be a part of their birthday celebration, if only for a couple of hours. 

Picture
I rushed from brunch to meet my other friend for her birthday celebration on the opposite end of Los Angeles (traffic.was.a.bitch.). She decided to celebrate by going to shooting range for the first time. I have never had any inkling to shoot a gun but it was her birthday and sometimes you gotta suck it up for the birthday girl. At  The Los Angeles Gun Club you can pair up on a lane and share the gun and ammo with your partner. I was paired up with Michelle (a coworker at my second job and such a sweet girl) and we were terrified. If it wasn't for the attendant helping us to load and forcing us to actually shoot the gun I am positive we would have never used even one bullet. He would not let us leave the room without shooting our ammo. At the time I think we were both close to tears from being so scared but he said we would regret it if we didn't just try and he was right I suppose. At least I never have to do it again! 

Lessons learned: Cait does not like loud booms nor things like shells flying back and hitting her. Also I guess you are not supposed to shut your eyes when you pull the trigger...whatever.

Picture

After losing ten years of my life at the gun club it was time for some revolving sushi and drinks. I LOVED the sushi place the birthday girl chose! I can never make up my mind when it comes to sushi and I get full so quickly from it that if I choose wrong I am out of luck. This place had different half rolls or even just a few pieces of sashimi being made in front of you and then placed on a conveyor belt for you to pick up as it passed by. All of the rolls I tried were amazing and it was a fun and different way to enjoy a meal.

Another marvelous thing that happened lately was my long run on Friday. I didn't wear my Polar because I am still healing from its rubbing last time but I completed 9 miles in about an hour and twenty minutes. I only have a little less than a month before the half so I am glad I am still keeping on a somewhat consistent training schedule!
I hope everyone else had a marvelous weekend!

What did you do this weekend?
What new things have you tried lately? Did you enjoy it?
2/11/2013 03:30:08 am

Sounds like you had a great weekend celebrating birthdays with friends!!

LOVE sushi! <3

Happy week to you!

Reply
2/11/2013 03:49:17 pm

Can't ever go wrong with a weekend that consists of sushi :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.