I have no excuse for not posting this recipe until today except that I am a slacker and was too busy cramming sugar and Halloween treats into my face to even consider writing up a blog post. Not that I have detached myself (momentarily) from the candy drawer I have a delicious recipe to share!

At work we had a Halloween Potluck and while I was going to just bring candy my family convinced me not be a loser and to actually make something. I wanted it to be seasonal and also not to require any sort or heating or work done the day of so pumpkin bread it was.
Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread


What's in it:
1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
4 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
2/3 cup water
3 cups white sugar
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger



How you make it: 
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour three 7x3 inch loaf pans.


2.In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, water and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans.


3.Bake for about 50 minutes in the preheated oven. Loaves are done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Obviously the "before" look.
Another fully cooked accomplishment! Seriously I am so proud I was patient enough to bake something all of the way...it is kinda an issue for me ;)
My only issue was that I didn't really NEED 3 loaves but I took one to work and have another to the neighbors so it ended up being well worth it. The bread wasn't too sweet which I liked because you could heat it and put a little butter on it and call it breakfast (or snack...or dessert...). Obviously I am sure some switches could be done to "healthify" this a little more but I didn't want to branch out too much when it was for a group.

Here are some other pictures from the last few days:
I have been all about juices these last few days. I have been craving them like none other and totally digging the energy they give me. The first one was really good but WAY too expensive. I could juice 10 bottle myself for how much it cost. The second was paired with a big kale salad. The third is my "casual Friday" look at work. I swear I am the most dressed up person on Friday's. I have no explanation. And the last is all of the candy that neighbors and family gave me for Halloween, proof that you don't have to trick or treat to get thrown under the candy bus. 

How was your Halloween? Do you give/get candy or treats from your family?



Leave a Reply.